Resetting Network Space 2

From NAS-Central Lacie Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

It is possible to reset the Network Space 2 to its default configuration.

This can be done as follows:

  • If the device is on, press 5 seconds to shut it down.
  • Press and hold the power button.
  • Release the button when the LED becomes solid red (after about 10 seconds).
  • When the LED begins blinking again press the button again. The LED will only blink for 5 seconds. If you fail to press the button before that 5 seconds is up you will need to start over from the second step.

The final button press confirms the reset.

It seems that the following happens when this procedure is executed:

  • The rootfs is layered, consisting of a read only bottom layer being sda8, and one or more layers in sda9. (in /snaps)
    These top layers contain only the differences to the bottom layer. All mutations on the rootfs (including firmware upgrades) are in sda9. On reset partition /dev/sda9 is entirely erased, effectively reverting the contents of the layered filesystem to sda8 only.
  • All old shares are moved to /shares/MyShare/Recovery/. The admin user has access to this share, and can recover the data.
  • Partition /dev/sda2 is preserved. It contains amongs others the folders /lacie/autoupdate, /lacie/torrent_dir and /lacie/var.

Therefore, when you customise your NAS, you are recommended to place customized files in a share (in /shares/...) and symlink or automount them, so you do not lose them on a factory reset. Absorbent cotton, Toko bunga jakarta